…everyone’s happy.

We’ve all heard this phrase – and even as we throw it around as a joke and laugh, we know it’s funny because it’s true.  If Mom is in a foul mood, there likely won’t be any fun to be had in the house.  Dad and the kids know it’s in their own best interest to keep Mom as happy as possible (without excusing boorish or overbearing behavior from Mom, of course.)  And that’s how the phrase is usually used: “you better keep Mom happy, or else!”

Today, I read this blog post, and it gave me a new perspective on the phrase.  Consider the following:

“First of all, moms are amazing. They are all things to all people. Regardless of
the time period they lived in, domestic peace is usually mom centered. Happy Mom
equals happy home.”

Read in this context, a slightly different connotation came to my mind.  If domestic peace is mom-centered, then Mom’s happiness shouldn’t depend on the actions of Dad and the kids.  As often as we are told that Mom must be kept happy, aren’t we also told that our happiness is our own responsibility?

This is something I certainly need to work on myself.  Too often I find myself unhappy for some little reason or other and my first impulse is to blame it on anything other than myself.  The truth is, regardless of what happens, I choose the way I ultimately react.  Will I get mad and make everyone miserable, or will I express my anger or dissapointment in the situation and let it go?  It is truly up to me.

Not to put another duty on moms, but I do think it’s our responsibility (and truly, every Christian’s responsibility) to give the gift of  good mood to everyone around us.  We want to give our children everything they need, and one thing they certainly  need is a happy home.  If we can help that happen by making the decision to be happy moms and happy people, then I believe we should.

I’m reminded of the song “Happy Girl” by Martina McBride.  The chorus is so true: it is a sweet thing to see a happy girl (or person), and it blesses everyone around her (or him).  So let’s be happy.  There are days when it just won’t seem possible, but try.  Our happiness is our responsibility, and it’s a gift we can give to everyone around us.

